Throwing Money in the Garbage

 

Most of you have probably heard about the peanut butter product recalls due to a large-scale salmonella outbreak. Even though I have a public health background, I kind of failed to pay attention for a while. Earlier this week I checked out the FDA website that lists all of the recalled items.

 

The items on the list that we currently have in our pantry are Zone Perfect bars; Clif Mojo bars and Clif Zbars. The website lists specific expiration date ranges for the contaminated products, but I’m just going to throw them all away even if the dates are not in the recalled ranges. Honestly, until an outbreak is completely investigated and understood, they could keep adding to the list of items and date ranges. I don’t want to chance us actually eating the product before they add it to their recalled list so into the trash it goes.

 

The funny thing is that I don’t purchase these types of bars too often, but the Mambo Sprouts booklet at Whole Foods had some great coupons on various Clif bars. At least I didn’t pay full price, right?

 

I know that the bars we have are probably fine, but I’m not willing to take the risk just to keep from wasting a few bucks. See, I told you I’m not cheap.

 

Right now experts recommend steering clear of peanut butter products until the full scope of the outbreak is understood. Have you checked the list and cleared your pantry yet?

Leave a comment

Filed under Planning

Leave a Reply

